The Office of the Attorney General (OAG) was established by the Office of the Attorney General Act [242] (the ‘Act’). The positions of Attorney General (AG), Solicitor General (SG), Parliamentary Counsel (PC) and the General Counsel (GC) are provided for in the OAG Act. The Office acts independently and the Attorney General as Head of the Office, is not subject to the direction of any person or body.

The principal functions of the Office of the Attorney General is to provide advice to, and represent the Government on, legal matters that may be referred to it by the President, the Council of Ministers, the Prime Minister, a Minister, a Director General of a ministry, or Director of a department.

The Office of the Attorney General also provides the specialist services to the Government on legislative drafting services, preparation of government instruments and the publication of Official Gazettes.




The current Attorney General is Mr. Arnold Kiel Loughman

Contact details

Office of the Attorney General
PMB 9048
Port Vila

Phone: 678 22362
Fax: 678 25473

VOIP: 3412 (Vanuatu Government network domain only)

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Street Address: Rue Emmanuel Brunet, Prime Minister’s Office, Port Vila